Climate Change Solutions Fund

Winners of 2016/17 awards have been announced. Read more here.  Applications for 2017/18 competition will open on July 1, 2017. 

For in-depth profiles of the 2015 winners please click here.

On April 7, 2014, President Drew Gilpin Faust announced the creation of the Harvard University Climate Change Solutions Fund (CCSF) to support research initiatives intended to hasten the transition from carbon-based energy systems to those that rely on renewable energy sources, and to propel innovations needed to accelerate progress toward cleaner energy and a greener world. To launch this Fund as an element of the University’s broader fundraising efforts for energy and environment, President Faust has committed $1 million in grant funding to be allocated at the outset of the 2014-2015 academic year.


Confronting Climate Change

A downloadable PDF version of Confronting Climate Change can be found below. 

confronting_climate_change.pdf41 KB

Climate Change Solutions Fund

About the Fund

The prospect of long-term global climate change—as well as immediate threats to the natural environment—requires the transformation of the energy system on which we rely.  Eighty percent of the world’s energy is currently derived from the combustion of fossil fuels.  Meeting the anticipated growth in world energy demand—from population growth as well as rising living standards in emerging economies—through reliance on these resources alone would be difficult, costly, and environmentally damaging.  Two of the greatest challenges of our time are to change the energy system and …

Read moreAbout the Fund

How much funding is available?

Research grants of up to $150,000 will be available. Up to $1 million in total grant funding is to be allocated for the upcoming funding rounds. 

Who will be eligible to apply?

All full-time Harvard faculty – and students with identified faculty mentors – will be eligible to apply for Climate Change Solutions Fund research grants.